C. G. Fanchini Civic Museum of Archaeology and Ethnography
The “C. G. Fanchini” Civic Museum of Archaeology and Ethnography, founded in 1974, is located in the former Palazzo dell’Asilo Infantile, formerly the convent of the Friars Minor since 1652. The Municipal Museum is divided into two sections: the Ethnographic Section, which boasts a vast and valuable collection bearing witness to the civil, artistic, artisan and agricultural life of the area’s past. The Archaeology Section, displays Golasecca and Vertamocori artefacts, a group of inhabitants of Celtic and Roman origin.
Services offered to the public include guided tours, shows, cultural and popular activities, educational tours and workshops, consultation of the archives and scientific support for research. The large museum spaces that were once used as a convent are currently used for educational and cultural purposes, as well as the celebration of weddings. The places designated for this purpose are: the Cloister, the Corte Rustica, the Underground, the Belvedere.
December 23, 2022